5 Things We Have to Stop Pretending

My PLN is beginning to fill up with posts about #makeschooldifferent.  Educators from every corner of the US is sharing their own ideas about the current state of education.

The posts that are capturing my attention are based on the “5 Things to Stop Pretending” list.  I like this type of post because it distills someone’s philosophy on teaching and learning into a short a list of priorities and beliefs.

At first, I thought it would be simple to generate this list. I have many strong convictions about teaching and learning, school structures, and our systems in general.  It has been quite difficult, in fact, to narrow these ideas to 5 short sentences.  (Each of the 5 Things I selected could be their own blog post, so I am congratulating myself for resisting the urge to make a list of paragraphs.)

So, without further ado, I present my “5 Things We Have to Stop Pretending”

1. Teachers should be completely in charge of student learning.
2. Technology is the answer to our problems. (Yes, I am a Tech Director)
3. Large scale testing provides us meaningful information about a student, classroom, or school.
4. We need to have an adopted curriculum in order to have a coherent curriculum.
5. Change in pedagogy and curriculum can be incremental.

Since every online “challenge” (i.e. ice bucket, 5 Things, etc) has to include the challenge part, I challenge the following educators to share their list of 5 Things We Have to Stop Pretending in Education).  @WaggonerRobert @CoffeeNancy @dustin772 @scottmpetri

7 comments

  1. Thanks for giving me a chance to offend almost all of my core stakeholder groups. Here goes my list of 5 Things We Have to Stop Pretending.

    1. Online education is good for kids
    2. A single teacher is capable of engaging all students in meaningful learning
    3. Parents teach their children time management skills
    4. All students are intrinsically motivated to learn
    5. Competency-based or CTE will revolutionize public ed

Leave a Reply

